The Episcopal Church

St. James’ is a parish in the Episcopal Diocese of West Virginia.  The Episcopal Church (TEC) is a member of the worldwide Anglican Communion, which boasts an estimated membership of nearly 80 million people. TEC extends beyond the United States, and has member churches in Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Haiti, Honduras, Micronesia, Puerto Rico, Taiwan, Venezuela, and the Virgin Islands. 

The Episcopal Diocese of West Virginia

The Episcopal Church

Quick Facts about the Episcopal Church

Holy Communion may be received by all baptized Christians, not only members of the Episcopal Church. 

Both men and women, including those who are married, are eligible for ordination as deacons, priests and bishops. 

George Washington was an Episcopalian.  In fact, 11 U.S. Presidents were Episcopalian, and the National Cathedral in Washington, DC is an Episcopal Church.  

Famous Episcopalians: John Steinbeck, Robin Williams, Judy Garland, Sam Waterston, Isaac Newton & Charles Darwin (Actually, those two were Anglicans, but close enough!)